Author: Amy

Andy Murray wins the WTA’s year-end award for the third time in a row

Andy Murray wins the WTA’s year-end award for the third time in a row

American Frances Tiafoe upsets Rafael Nadal in 4th round of US Open.

The American tennis star Andy Murray became the latest winner of the WTA’s year-end award when he was announced as the winner of the male prize for the 2015 season.

The Briton, who reached the year-end Grand Slam final at the US Open, was given the female prize for the second consecutive season when she was also announced as the 2014 Female Player of the Year on Tuesday.

Murray, who won his first Grand Slam at the French Open, has been widely recognised as the sport’s “Big Apple” player.

The 31-year-old has already broken his own record by winning 16 titles on the Tour this season, the most ever of any player.

As the first British male athlete to win since Andy Lee in 1977, and the first British male player to win a Grand Slam since Joe McAdams in 1969, this is Murray’s third trophy this year.

The first two came at the French Open when he beat Marin Cilic in the final, and as the only British man to have beaten Rafael Nadal on the Tour this year, he also becomes the first British male player to win a Grand Slam.

“It’s hard to get the accolades that you want for yourself after years of hard work. To have those awards now in the year-end awards, you can only dream of,” he told BBC.

“I’ve been to the year-end awards every year and this is the greatest compliment that you could ever get. It’s a huge honour, the first one for both genders and I’m really proud of it.”

The Australian’s win makes her the third player from the southern hemisphere to become the first winner since Martina Navratilova in 1977.

The Australian Open finalist has dominated the women’s game in her home country of Australia, winning the title in three of the last four years and becoming only the second woman to win eight Australian Opens in a row.

“It’s a very proud moment and it’s very humbling to be recognised as being the winner for two years in a row by the ATP and

Leave a Comment